Originally built in 1870, the Tubbs hotel was a center of society in Oakland for years. Located between 4th and 5th Avenues, and E. 12th and E. 14th Streets (in the township of Brooklyn), the hotel burned down in August of 1893. The photo to the left, from the Online Archives of California, shows the hotel in 1889, the year of the following article:
From The Oakland Tribune, 02 January 1889:
TUBBS HOTEL OPENED
The Flag Flying on the First Day of the Year
Without any ceremony save the display of an American flag at the masthead Tubbs Hotel was yesterday formally declared opened for business. It has been fitted up magnificently and at great expense. J. M. Davies, the lessee of the hotel, has worked long and with untiring energy to make the place comfortable and inviting and he certainly has been successful.
This morning a TRIBUNE reporter was shown through the immense building by F. M. Black, who will assume the management of the hotel. The large dining room has been refitted and even the silverware has been changed. It is the largest dining hall in the city. The kitchen has been entirely rebuilt, and two of the largest size ranges put in. The parlor and billiard rooms are large and airy and are handsomely fitted up and like all the other rooms in the house, are warmed by hot air. Gas and electricity illuminate the building by night and electric bells and speaking tubes give easy communication with the office. Mr. Black, the manager is an experience hotel man and understands his business perfectly.
Among the permanent guests of the house are: General Sheehan and family; Mr. C[?] and family, Dr. and Mrs. E. H. Cool, C. J. Rawlins, Mr. and Mrs. Bumiller and family, H. H. Nagle and family, and E. H. Spooner, superintendant of the Dexter mines of Virginia, Nev., who, with his family, will reside in Oakland during the winter.